Paul Bunyan

Paul Bunyan. He was a lumberjack. He wore plaid, he carried an ax, he had an ox named Babe. He is an icon of americana. I have a feeling the Brawny man is loosely based on Paul Bunyan. I’m not sure how the Paul Bunyan would feel about having a paper towel man created in his image. I don’t think he would be pleased. I can’t imagine him thinking that paper towels were manly and awesome. But maybe I’m wrong, maybe he liked to clean his giant kitchen.

I didn’t have a whole lot of Paul Bunyan insight (I’m distracted by that box and I don’t have access to an ax). But I’ll to do my best. I bought a giant blue ox. I’ve really been saving up for this celebration. Ok, so that’s not true. You know I don’t like animals. What would I even do with an ox?

I did find some rather interesting facts out about Paul Bunyan folklore.

  • He created logging in the U.S.
  • He scooped out the great lakes to water Babe, his ox.
  • He cleared the entire states of North and South Dakota for farming.
  • He trained ants to do logging work. They were, of course, Carpenter Ants.
  • Babe’s large footprints created Minnesota’s 10,000 lakes.

Are these things true? Um… I found them on the internet… so… of course they are true. The internet is flawless.

And as I am writing this I am also watching an OETA program. It’s a about the history of musicals and what scene starts playing. You guessed it! The scene from Seven Brides for Seven Brothers where they are pensively chopping wood.

 

Wood chopping is serious business.

 

 

If you haven’t seen Seven Brides for Seven Brothers you are in the majority of humans these days, but that doesn’t mean you are better off! SBfSB is amazing. It’s basically the tale of 7 Paul Bunyans and some girls they meet. You should check it out.

Wouldn’t it be sort of hilarious if someone had bunions on their feet and they named them Paul. Paul Bunion would make your feet issues a little more bearable. And instead of a blue ox you could just wear blue socks. I am the funniest human ever. Blue socks and Paul Bunion.

Bunion jokes can only go so far, you know?

I’m sorry that I don’t have a better more elaborate celebration for Paul Bunyan day. However, I have a great news. I will be attending a curling match in order to prepare for Curling is Cool Day and I literally can’t wait.

Sincerely,

Researching ant training

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Paul Bunyan

  1. Charlene

    This may be my favorite one yet.
    Sincerely,
    Hope I never have bunions to name.

  2. becky armstrong

    Hey! I went to see “Seven Brides For Seven Brothers” live with Howard Keel and Jane Powell. I have every song memorized and use to pretend that I was one of the girlfriends stranded at their lodge. I am glad that you reminded me of this wonderful memory!

Leave a Reply

