Tolkien Reading Day

Well today is Tolkien Reading Day. And let me tell you. I love me some J. R. R. Tolkien. He was a brilliant guy. I mean he made up 14 languages, just for The Lord of the Rings. That’s some serious dedication. I made up like 5 languages for this blog, but whatever.

I love LOTR. I am a giant nerd. I quote the movies on a regular basis. I’ve read the books. It’s just part of my life. And the people around me love LOTR as well. It was sort of a family thing. We would go to Tulsa for the premieres, have dinner before and make a LOTR night out of it.

I still have my tickets from going to see the premieres in theaters. I will suggest this to you, based on my experience with LOTR movie watching. Never, ever, under any circumstances go to a midnight premiere and go see the movie the next day and pretend that was your first time to see it. Believe me, it’s not wise. It will be held over your head for years YEARS to come.

Since it’s Tolkien Reading Day, and I didn’t spend my entire day reading thousands of pages of glorious text, I will share with you some of my favorite LOTR’s quotes.

At Bilbo Baggins’ birthday, the speech he gives is outstanding. Now, this quote is from the movie… I don’t readily have the books available, so this will have to do. I think J. R. R. would understand.

“My dear Bagginses and Boffins, Tooks and Brandybucks, Grubbs, Chubbs, Hornblowers, Bolgers, Bracegirdles and Proudfoots.” “Proudfeet!” “Today is my one hundred and eleventh birthday!” “Alas, eleventy-one years is far too short a time to live among such excellent and admirable hobbits.” “I don’t know half of you half as well as I should like, and I like less than half of you half as well as you deserve.”

That last line. Genius. I feel like saying that occasionally, you know, when I’m giving birthday speeches and such.

Pretty much any time Aragorn speaks I swoon. He might be my movie character/book character crush. He and Ferris Bueller.

But there is one time in particular. It’s in Return of the King.

“Sons of Gondor! Of Rohan! My brothers. I see in your eyes the same fear that would take the heart of me. A day may come when the courage of Men fails, when we forsake our friends and break all bonds of fellowship, but it is not this day. An hour of wolves and shattered shields when the Age of Men comes crashing down, but it is not this day! This day we fight! By all that you hold dear on this good earth, I bid you stand, Men of the West!”

I’m not going to lie, I got a little teary during the speech. If you a LOTR fan this speech was the equivalent of the William Wallace speech in Braveheart.

Sam, who wins best friend of the year award, says the following and he truly means it. “I made a promise, Mr Frodo. A promise. “Don’t you leave him Samwise Gamgee.” And I don’t mean to. I don’t mean to.”

However, the greatest quote in all of the movies, is in Return of the King. It’s so awkward. Legolas awkwardly declares during a battle brainstorm session. “A diversion!” It’s strange and awkward and I laugh every time.

I truly understand the level of my nerdiness. I get it. I don’t apologize. I also like Harry Potter, Star Trek, Star Wars and end of the world sci-fi dramas. Deal with it.

Now, tomorrow is Make Up Your Own Holiday Day and the poll is still going. I’ll close it tomorrow at some point so get your votes in. Vote kindly.

Sincerely,

Moving to Gondor.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Tolkien Reading Day

  1. Since you did a J. R. R. Tolkien Day you should definitely do a George R. R. Martin Day. A Song of Ice and Fire series is superb. Let’s see how far your nerd streak goes. 🙂

Leave a Reply

