It was a very good day.

Today is Mom and Pop Business Day and the day Coca Cola was invented. I nailed two birds with one stone and celebrated them at the same place. Two birds with one stone is a funny saying. As soon as I typed it I drew this:

Two birds one stone.

So there’s that. My drawing of what it would look like to take out two birds with one stone. I throw a mean curve stone with a sling shot.

Back to the celebrations, for lent (or for personal gain, because I don’t really celebrate lent) I gave up pop. I went all of three weeks without having it. Until last night at around 10:30 pm I was in dire need of a large Diet Coke with extra vanilla. I broke down, after Chelsie told me it was going to be ok, and got a delicious beverage. I was so pleased with the carbonated, caffeinated syrupy delight. So today being the day that coke was invented, I was much less sad about drinking pop. I had some Diet Coke after dinner tonight and I had a Dr Pepper when I got home, because let’s be honest Dr Pepper is the king of pop.

There is a place in Norman called Classic 50’s. It’s an old-fashioned drive in. You can get candy in your drinks and they have these deals call Potato Boats that I would sell my soul for, ok maybe just my pinky finger. (Would you love me if I was missing a leg? I wouldn’t love you if you were missing a pinky finger!) Anyone?? Anyone??

So we went to Classic’s and it was delightful. Chelsie and I had a serious long talk and serious long talks are the best kind of talks. Unless it’s a short hilarious one, because those are really great too. But Classic’s has been around for ages and is locally owned. And Coke has been around for ages and used to have illegal drugs in it. And that’s all I have to say about that.

I know all of you are dying to know where we were coming from, because you are nosy. And I don’t blame you, I’m nosy too. Well we were at the Thunder game!! Kappa bought everyone that wanted to go a Thunder ticket! We sat in the nose bleeds, which they call Noise City to boost morale, but it was just as fun as ever. We played Golden State, and I was reminded of my crush on Stephen Curry.

Here are some pictures. I would have had much better pics, except I left my camera at home like an idiot. IPhone pics will have to do.

Your nose is bleeding too now, sorry.

Two sweet Kappa girls, who are fans of The Celebrationist, asked if I was going to blog the Thunder game. I wasn’t actually planning on it, but I figured why not. They were jazzed and so I decided to include them!

Allison and Amanda are very cool. They both have cool blonde hair. My hair aspires to be that cool.

So that’s what I did today. It’s almost like you were here. But I have one more thing to show you. I found part of my graduation gift from a relative of sorts last weekend. But let me prepare you. I love antiques and I have an affinity for all things yellow. Not regular yellow, but horrible greenish goldish burnt scary beautiful yellow. And these chairs are just that. I could not be happier with the purchase. I’m sad that I don’t have them in my house in Norman. I got them for when I move off somewhere and have an apartment in a cool grown up city.

These are lovely. Quite lovely.

I know you might hate them. I’m fine with that. I just won’t be inviting you to my cool grown up apartment, in a city far far away. I mean I might, but those chairs will be there, so you’ll just have to deal… or keep your eyes closed.

Sincerely,

A really really good artist.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “It was a very good day.

  1. Sister Abby

    I really treasure your bird drawings.
    Sincerely, keeping my eyes shut real tight.
    Those chairs are spooky.

  2. I happen to think those chairs are lovely. (I love the word lovely just like you.)
    They will look adorable in a big-girl apartment. And doesn’t it feel good to keep them out of the landfill?

Leave a Reply

