I’ve done 100 of these.

This is my 100th post. No, this is not the 100th day of the year. I posted twice on one day and I posted three times before the New Year, but this is the 100th post on this blog. That’s neat.

Today is Tartan Day. What is tartan you ask? It’s plaid by golly! It’s your clan’s plaid. What’s a clan you ask? It’s your family by golly! My mom does genealogy, you recall from genealogy day I’m sure. I know that you hang on my every important grammar error free word so you probably read it.

Well, turns out I have family from Scotland and Ireland. I’m part Scotch-Irish in fact. My family comes from several clans that can be traced right back to the highlands. This made going to Scotland last summer very exciting. I knew my love of kilts and bagpipes came from somewhere. I really do have a love of kilts and bagpipes. Dear men, Wear kilts. Sincerely, Kate.

Well, here are the tartans of the clans that I come from.

 

MacAlister Dress Tartan

Allison Ancient Tartan

Kennedy Dress Tartan

Long long ago, in a galaxy far far away, or in Scotland, larger clans like MacAlister would absorb smaller ones like Allison. Allison is technically a sept of the MacAlisters. These are the three that are the main clans that I come from. Which is kind of awesome. It’s very interesting to know that people I am related to wore these colors with pride. Too bad we don’t still have some sort of family marker. Actually that doesn’t sound like the greatest of plans. I would probably have to wear a fake beard.

I believe all of these are from my mom’s side of the family. My dad’s side of the family is hard to trace back. About 5 or 6 Beards back we lose track. So these are my maternal Scottish clans. Cool. In the spirit of Scotland here are some pics from my travels to Scotland last summer.

 

I see that kilt and I like what I see.

Oh hi there statue man.

I just noticed that his knees are extremely realistic looking.

 

Edinburgh Castle.... or Hogwarts.

The middle of the city looking awesome.

Well, there’s that. I hope you enjoyed Tartan Day. I thoroughly enjoy all days that let me look at my ancestors. I think it’s extremely interesting. I’m off. And The Celebrationist is on the road for the next two days! I have an interview! Woo!

Sincerely,

Researching fake beards.

PS: On a completely unrelated note, I am going to another concert. My entire family loves the Lil’ Wayne. That’s a rapper if you aren’t up on your pop culture. He also goes by Weezy. Ok, so. I heard on the radio that he was going to be in Dallas in a week or two. So…. I’m going…. with my family…. Looks like I’m going to be celebrating DNA Day with Weezy and Nicki Minaj.

I have a cool family.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “I’ve done 100 of these.

  1. Abby

    words cannot describe to you how excited I truely am. like.. speechless.

    abby-ymcmb

  2. stbdds

    Maybe “weezy DNA day” should be changed to “buy your Dad a hip flask day”…

Leave a Reply

