National Beer Day

Well I’m blogging from a taxi. Add that to places I’ve blogged. I wrote this earlier in the airport.

Well it’s National Beer Day and there’s no better place to celebrate than an airport, especially an airport bar.

Ok this is all you get for now. I’m in a cab. The man’s a crazy. I will post later, but maybe after midnight. So sorry this wasn’t a full post. You will get one I promise.

Update April 8, 2011 12:09 p.m.Well, it’s a day later. Sorry. But here is my blog from beer day including the celebrations once I got to My big blustery city.

Airport bars are generally the most mysterious of places. You find a very eclectic crowd. So I’m sitting here celebrating National Beer Day with a Modelo. It’s warm outside and warm outside means Mexican beer time.

Let me run you through my day. I’m going to a big blustery city for an interview tomorrow. I’m very enthused. Jobs rule, or so I’ve heard. [Sidenote: I’m watching the masters and Phil Mickelson seems to have gotten those man boobs under control.] So my plane was supposed to leave OKC at 2:45 p.m. Well it’s 5:19 (great song) and I’m still here. I was almost 15 minutes away from leaving my house when American called me and cancelled my flight. Well, that’s rude. So I get angry. I told you about my issues with injustice. So I call AA a few times, American Airlines not Alcoholics Anonymous, and try to figure things out. I was moved to a flight at 7:20. I tried to get on a flight at 5 but stand by failed me. And this is the part of my blog where I tell you about my stand by theory.

Stand by only works for people that are going somewhere they don’t really want to go. For example, funerals, graduations, hospital visits, you get the idea. The other time stand by works is if you are miserable and exhausted. Miserable exhausted people always get the flight.

Times it doesn’t work, when you are going to a job interview in a cool city and trying to go to dinner tonight, but whatever. I’m leaving at 7:20. But I’m here celebrating. It’s a good thing I like airports.

So now I’m writing this on the back of my resume. Chatting with some yuppies about their lives. This dude seems terrible. This guy is currently telling me that he went to Europe 8 times last year. “For business?” “Haha, no pleasure.” I inquire further. “Oh cool! Where in Europe?” The following is a direct quote: “Spain, Italy, Lichtenstein, Switzerland, Russia, Switzerland again, Russia again and Iceland.”

At this point I knew this guy was an idiot. I had to try so so hard not to say, “Really, Iceland? During a volcano?” But I didn’t. I did however mention how I love to watch people in airports because they act however they want and they can be a completely different person if they want. I don’t think he caught on.

And now I’m celebrating with a blue moon.

Now for the city celebrating. I went to dinner at an amazing restaurant. I had delicious food, which is good because I love delicious food. We split a fancy beer that I don’t remember then name of. And then I had one called Robert the Bruce. Twas a very hoppy evening. Haha I crack myself up.

Sincerely,

Frustrated with travel delays and my dying phone.

Updated Sincerely,

Blogging from a cab that smells like cheap strawberry room spray. It rules.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “National Beer Day

  1. Sarah Landry

    Hey it was fun running into you at the airport yesterday!! Sorry your flights got all screwed up! I channelled my inner “Celebrationist” and talked to the guy sitting next to me on the plane. Its pretty amazing the things you can find out about a complete stranger when you just say “Is Houston home for you?” Good luck at your interview!

  2. Cheers!! My name is Justin Smith, and I am the founder of National Beer Day. When I started this holiday almost 3 years ago, I had no idea it would get so big so fast. It’s good to see this important day in our history start to get the recognition it deserves. Thank you for helping spread the word about one of my favorite days of the year!

Leave a Reply

