Cosmonaut Day!

If you don’t spend a considerable amount of time with me day in and day out you would be unaware of one of my bad habits, nay one of my greatest habits. Second to making hair mustaches (see below) talking in a Russian accent is one of my strengths.

Long hair is perfect for a good hair mustache!

My hair is finally FINALLY getting long enough to make hair mustaches again. I have had short hair for ages and have been denied my right to hair mustaches! But this is about Russian accents, not hair mustaches.

So, for as long as I can remember, okay probably more like sometime in high school, I’ve been using a Russian accent. I don’t have many accents that I do well, but this is one of them. The others would be white trash girl and high school girl. But Russian was the original. If I’m using the Russian accent I usually go by the name Natalia. Do not be alarmed if I give you one as well, Boris, Barushka, Olaf, etc. etc.

So now that you know my love of Russian accents, Defiance with Daniel Craig is glorious, I will move onto the cosmonauts!

If you were unaware, cosmonauts are simply Russian astronauts. Space cowboys if you will, and I know you will. So I thought I would share with you my knowledge of the Russian space program. I have two things, possibly three, that I will share with you.

Cosmonaut Informational Nugget #1:

Lance Bass.

Yes, that Lance Bass. One of the founding members of ‘N SYNC, only my favorite of the late 90s early 00s boy bands. Lance Bass wasn’t the front man, he wasn’t even the second in line guy. Justin Timberlake and JC Chasez took care of the main vocals and the cuteness factor. Joey Fatone and Chris Kirkpatrick were the edgy members of the band. And then Lance was just kind of in the background. I have to be honest, Lance was not my most favorite member.

I was into JC and his turtle necks and Justin and his bleached hair.

 

Well this is embarrassing. I was going to wear the turtleneck today.....

 

Lance is the one in the back, looking extremely blurry. But Lance has something that the rest of the members of ‘N SYNC do not have. Lance was a cosmonaut! Well, almost.

He tried to join the Russian space team. Cool. Right? Apparently, money can buy you into space. Or almost into space. Turns out, Mr. Bass couldn’t cut it. But he made it long enough to take this picture.

 

That American flag seems a bit out-of-place. Wrong, an American flag is never out-of-place.

 

Cosmonaut Informational Nugget #2

The movie Armageddon. It doesn’t matter what part of the movie I start watching at, I will cry. I will cry a lot. Ben and Bruce and Liv, they get me every time.

But did you recall the Russian cosmonaut?? His name is Lev Andropov. He is a riot.

One of my favorite lines in the entire movie:

A.J.: Have you ever heard of Evel Knievel?
Lev Andropov: No, I never saw Star Wars.

I die every time. I encourage you to watch it soon. I feel it’s time you see it. It’s been far too long. And I know that you take my advice incredibly seriously. Because this blog is incredibly serious.

So I only have two things for today. I hope you are entertained.

Sincerely,

To infinity and beyond

PS: I wrote this in a Russian accent, I hope you read accordingly.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Cosmonaut Day!

  1. Sister Abby

    like oh my gawd, it’s like sooo cool that you like have a blog. it probably makes you like really popular?

Leave a Reply

