It’s DNA Day!

I think DNA is very interesting and cool. I always liked science class when we discussed mitosis and meiosis and the seperation of DNA and what not. So on this day of genetic information I give you the following. You can now get your DNA made into a beautiful art creation.

Oh, what interesting thymine sequences you have.

Its like staring in a mirror.

I think this is incredibly interesting. I also think it’s a little strange. Especially the part about how you have to send a DNA sample to this company. Just a cheek cell swab. Here’s the thing, who would know if this was accurate or not. It’s not like the back our your drivers license has you sequenced DNA on it. We would have no idea if that was actually ours, or just some lab technician that was trying to be hilarious.

It’s a cool idea, but totally open to scams. It’s also freakishly expensive. The example hanging above the bed is $390.00, that’s kind of a lot for your DNA pic. It’s also sort of strange looking. I mean, if you are into abstract strangeness hanging in your room, then by all means this is for you. But I’m not so much into abstract strangeness hanging in my room.

Another option is a kiss print picture. You get the kit, kiss a piece of paper, send the one you want to use back to the company and they make you a canvas of your kiss print.

This is exactly what I wanted.

There is also a fingerprint option if you are into that. I don’t know how I feel about any of it.

Another thing I’ve been pondering on DNA Day, it’s not exactly DNA related, but I don’t know what type of blood I have. I feel like that is something I should know. I’m also scared to give blood. I want to give blood. I always psych myself up when I see that you can donate blood on campus, but when I walk by I get awkward and nervous.

And now I have some updates for you from the past week. I’ve been fairly distracted for various reasons when blogging and I felt like I owed you a few things. Like my bird drawing from bird day and other various fun pictures from my days and adventures.

This is a bird picture I found in a museum on bird day. Also, this was in a museum…. riddle me that.

I knew I could find a bird in here some where.

I was right! That looks exactly like a bird!

I also got to accomplish something on my bucket list. Ferris Bueller’s Day Off is one of my favorite movies ever. Naturally, the scene where he, Cameron and Sloan stand in front of the Seurat painting is one of the greatest movie scenes of all time. I got to stand there, but I didn’t find a kindergarten class to join. I did get to see this precious little girl looking at the painting. She fulfilled the role of kindergarten class in my pseudo Ferris Bueller adventure.

Weve seen everything good. Weve seen the whole city! We went to a museum, we saw priceless works of art! We ate pancreas!

This is my beautiful art creation for Draw a Bird Day!

aerial view!

Based on some of the things I saw in a museum, I’m fairly certain that this little number could hang on the walls. Now you are updated! I was going to go to the zoo, but it was 50 degrees and windy today and that was just not a wise decision. But I will be going soon. Especially because there is about to be a baby elephant born!!!!!!!

Sincerely,

A righteous dude.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “It’s DNA Day!

  1. I love that Seurat painting. I remember when I finally made it to Chicago to see it in person.
    And I like your bird!

Leave a Reply

