Cinco de Awesome

I’m celebrating as we speak. My celebration might last past midnight. I have things to tell you. Lots and lots. Don’t hate if it’s after midnight. It’s already the theme of the week.

Sincerely,

Cinco de Kate

Celebratory Update:

Well, last night was one of the greatest Cinco de Mayo’s of all time. I had so so so much fun. First of all, I love Mexican food and Mexican beers. On top of that, I really love holidays. (Sidenote: In class yesterday I overheard two kids talking about finding more holidays to celebrate. If they only knew.) But, I was nothing less than jazzed about Cinco de Mayo.

I went to one of my places last night. One of my most favorite places. Fuzzy’s. It’s a taco shop. Let me rephrase, it’s the taco shop. I sat on the back porch, had a margarita, got to see fun people that I love. And then this happened. Chelsie and I were minding our own business. Two strangers sit down at our table. Two really terrible conversationalists sit down. We aren’t that jazzed. They migrate on once our friends get there. But one of them comes back. I have the following conversation.

Stranger: Hey we are going to Joe’s (a bar, not another strangers’ house) later if you all want to come.

Me: Actually our best friend’s baby shower is in the morning so we are going home soon. Bye.

I was very pleased with my on a whim comment. And about the fictional baby shower. Public Relations really taught me how to come up with things quick. But Chelsie and I had a blast. It was a very well celebrated Cinco de Mayo.

It was a really great celebration for the end of college. Ugh, the end of college. It’s scary. I have a final next Thursday and a paper about Vietnam I have to turn in by Tuesday and I am completely finished with all academia for the rest of eternity. Yesterday was my last day of college class. It was the strangest feeling walking out of that class. I sort of felt like I didn’t know what I was supposed to do after that. Actually, I went directly home and took a two hour nap. Which is funny because after my first day of kindergarten I took a nap on the couch. I live a napping cycle. Dust to dust, nap to nap. Something like that.

Due to the fact that it was my last day of college I figured I would share on of the greatest things I have written. When I was a senior in high school I had to give a speech to my graduating class on the last day of school. I was the editor of the paper (giant nerd, I know) and each year the editor gave a speech. I wanted to be hilarious and not boring. So I have the following speech. Sophomore year of college I was in public speaking and I gave this speech again with some added things. So here goes.

Today I want to share with you what this day and the days to follow mean. I want you to look at the end of the year and perhaps the end of your education as a time to reflect and to look forward towards what lies ahead of you. Today I want to take you back on where you have come, prepare you to go out into the world, and encourage you to enjoy every second of it.

What would you do if I sang out of tune?  Would you stand up and walk out on me?  Lend me your ears, and I’ll sing you a song; I will try not to sing out of key.

From the day we arrive on the planet and blinking, step into the sun. There’s more to see than can ever be seen, more to do than can ever be done. There’s far too much to take in here, more to find than can ever be found. But the sun rolling high, through the sapphire sky keeps great and small on the endless round.

It’s the circle of life. And it moves us all through despair and hope, through faith and love. Till we find our place on the path unwinding in the circle. The circle of life

At this point in our lives the worst is over; the world can have the best of us.  We got older, but we’re still young.  We never grew out of this feeling that we won’t give up.

And it’s true – we won’t give up.  We won’t give up because these days are gone – like yesterday is gone.  Like history is gone.  The world keeps spinning on; you’re going, going, gone.  Like summer break will be gone, like Saturday is gone.

Students, – down every road you roam, may sunshine and happiness surround you when you are far from home.  Be courageous and brave.  And in my heart, we will always stay forever young.

But right now you are at another turning point; a fork stuck in the road. Time grabs you by the wrist directs you where to go. So make the best of this test and don’t ask why. It’s not a question but a lesson learned in time. It’s something unpredictable but in the end it’s right. I hope you had the time of your life.

We do know one thing – it’s closing time.  Time for us to go out – go out into the world.  Closing time – every new beginning comes from some other beginning’s end.  The hardest part will be letting go and not taking part and the strangest thing will be waiting for that bell to ring.  It will be the strangest start.

And that final bell will ring.  So here’s to the tears you knew you’d cry.  Here’s to good-bye.  Tomorrow’s going to come too soon.  And my wish for you is that this life becomes all that you want it to.  Yours dreams stay big, and your worries stay small.  You never need to carry more than you can hold, and while you’re out there getting where you’re getting to, I hope you know somebody loves you and wants the same things too.

But, when it hasn’t been your day, your week, your month, or even your year, your friends will be there for you.  When the rain starts to pour, they’ll be there for you, like they’ve been there before.  They’ll be there for you ‘cuz you’re there for them too.

And if you’re lost, you can look and you will find them, time after time.  If you fall, they will catch you; they will be waiting time after time

So, remember to say this to each of your friends – you can call on me, brother, when you need a hand.  We all need somebody to lean on.  I just might have a problem that you’d understand.  We all need somebody to lean on.

Making your way in the world today takes everything you’ve got; I know that sometimes you’ll want to go where everybody knows your name, and they’re always glad you came; you want to be where you can see the troubles are all the same.  You want to be where everybody knows your name.

For us, OU will be that place – that place we can always return to.

We can’t wait for what is next, but some people wait a lifetime for a moment like this.  So, take the photographs and still frames in your mind, hang it on shelf of good health and good time.

I hope for you that you never dreamed a dream in time gone by,
 when hope was high and life, worth living.
 You dreamed that love would never die,
 you dreamed that God would be forgiving. 
Then you were young and unafraid, 
and dreams were made and used and wasted.

Don’t ever have dreams that were made and used and wasted. You have to work it harder make it better, do it faster makes us stronger, more than ever, hour after our, work is never over.

And now it is too late for second-guessing. Too late to go back to sleep. It’s time to trust your instincts.  Close your eyes, and leap! It’s time to try defying gravity. I think you should try defying gravity!

Remember – you’d better lose yourself in the music, the moment – you own it.  You’d better never let it go.  You only get one shot; do not miss your chance to blow this opportunity comes once in a lifetime.  So!  Goodbye to you.  Goodbye to everything we thought we knew because time keeps on slipping, slipping, slipping, into the future.

And there’s always going to be another mountain. 
You’re always going to want to make it move. 
Always going to be an uphill battle. 
Sometimes you’re going have to lose. It’s not about how fast you get there. 
It’s not about what’s waiting on the other side, it’s the climb.

We’re leaving together, but still it’s farewell. And maybe we’ll come back to earth, who can tell? 
I guess there is no one to blame, we’re leaving ground. Will things ever be the same again? This is the final countdown

But, we are the champions, my friends, and we’ll keep on fighting until the end.  There will be times when that fight will be difficult.  When it is, turn around.  Every now and then, you’ll get a little bit lonely, like you’re never coming ‘round.  Turn around.  Every now and then you’ll get a little bit tired of listening to the sound of your tears.  Turn around.  Every now and then you’ll get a little bit nervous that the best of all your years have gone by.  Turn around.  Every now and then, you’ll get a little bit terrified until you see the look in your eyes.  Turn around, Bright Eyes.  Every now and then you’ll fall apart.

Just dance it’s going to be ok, you’re going to be a shining star, with fancy clothes, and fancy cars. 
And then you’ll see, you’re going to go far, because everyone knows, who you are. So live your life with no worries, for the rest of your days you need to have a problem free philosophy. Hakuna Matata.

I’m sort of proud of it. It sort of made this blog freakishly long. Sorry. But not really, because I’m glad you got to read my song lyric speech. It’s incredibly hard for me not to sing along when I read it. And if I ever hear Eminem I immediately try to sing Michelle Branch right after.

Sincerely,

The Strangest Start

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Cinco de Awesome

  1. dust to dust, nap to nap

    may be my favorite line in all of the blog

Leave a Reply

