The Amazing Mumford

Ok, while researching what holiday I would celebrate on June 7th I came across something interesting. Apparently today is The Amazing Mumford’s birthday. At first I didn’t really know who that was so I didn’t pay much attention to it. However, as I kept looking I wasn’t finding anything awesome to celebrate, but The Amazing Mumford kept coming up. So I decided to celebrate that. It’s also Chocolate Ice Cream Day. But The Amazing Mumford sounds so much more interesting.

Who is The Amazing Mumford? This guy.

So amazing!

He is the magician from Sesame Street. Here is his bio, The Amazing Mumford is a talented magician, but his magic tricks sometimes go awry. His characteristic magic words are “A la peanut butter sandwiches!” After saying this, there is a puff of smoke usually accompanied by either a “poof” noise or magical tinkling sounds, and then after clearing, it reveals how the trick has gone wrong.”

He seems cool enough. Also, I was sort of obsessed with Sesame Street as a child. It was a weird show, but I have a thing for Muppets. As if me having a thing for Muppets makes it okay that it was a weird show. My logic evaded me momentarily. But let’s talk about The Amazing Mumford. Where are his eyes? He has brows, but no eyes. No wonder he sucks at magic. Point number two, where did he get that gold chain? Not because I think it’s weird, but because I want one. Are his fingers dislocated? All of them. Are they? I can’t tell. I like that he has a Jimmy Buffet pencil thin mustache. That’s my favorite Jimmy Buffet song. And The Amazing Mumford’s stache totally qualifies.

As for Chocolate Ice Cream day, I celebrate with a substitute. It has chocolate in it, but it isn’t exactly chocolate ice cream. It’s chocolate chip cookie dough. Which is infinitely better. However, this was a weird batch. Very weird, but good weird. The cookie dough bits weren’t bits at all. They were chunks and there were lots of them. I was pleased. But it seemed like the texture of the entire ice cream was just off a little. I can’t explain why, but my guess is that it was frozen wrong? Is that a possibility? I don’t know. It was icier than usual. Anyway, I’ll be posting the rest of the June list tonight.

I’m also blogging from the road again. Dallas this weekend and Chicago next week. It’s always an adventure here.

Sincerely,

A la peanut butter sandwiches!

PS: Maybe I need my own catch phrase. I’m open to suggestions, which really just means please give me your suggestions. Seriously.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

