Orange will never be the new black.

First things first, let me tell you about yesterday. I owe you an update. Some times I think the weather is anti-this blog. Whenever I try to have a picnic or fly a kite, the heavens unleash. It rained so so hard. It was intense to say the least and absolutely not appropriate for any type of kite flying. So instead of going to the park and flying a kite I stayed inside and ate delicious food. Go figure. Sean and I ate at Xoco, the smallest of the three Rick Bayless restaurants. It was outstanding. I had a seafood cocktail that consisted of shrimp and scallops in a tomotillo avocado salsa situation. I ate it on chips that were shaped like kites. It was outstanding. Sean’s sandwich came cut in half and sitting in a bowl of sauce. And by sauce I mean soup.

And for dinner we went to dinner with Sean’s friend Ali. She is so incredibly wonderful and fun. Sushi was delightful. I ate my favorite things.

And now kites, when I was little we lived in Edmond, Oklahoma while my dad was in dental school. There was a huge field next to our apartment complex. My dad and I would pack a backpack of snacks and ‘hike’ over to the field and eat our snacks and fly this really cool kite. It didn’t have sticks. I was more of a challenge to fly, but so cool when it finally took flight. And then they built an assisted living place in the field. Kite flying was no more. The end.

And now for today. I didn’t wear a lick of orange. I don’t really love orange. I have some orange shirts, but I wear them sparingly. My iPad cover is orange. I chose the orange and I’m glad I did. It’s different.

Today I met with a really wonderful company in Chicago. They were outstanding. They took incredible care of me. I spread the No Orange Clothes Day message.

On the street today I saw a girl with orange shoes and I made a face. I sort of felt bad, but she clearly didn’t know how to properly celebrate. She was the only major offender.

Dinner tonight was at a place that is quickly becoming my place. Frontera, the next most awesome Rick Bayless restuarant. I had the greatest margarita. It had muddled cucumbers. It was the best summer drink I have ever had. I loved it. We had the same waiter. David. I want to be his friend. Speaking of, I am making it known to all of you that a lifetime goal of mine is now to befriend Rick Bayless. He is from Oklahoma City and graduated from OU. He loves to make great Mexican food, I love to eat great Mexican food. We have so much in common!! So that’s on my lifetime to-do list.

Sincerely,

The girl in the yellow sweater, not the orange one.

PS: I am yet to go to the most awesome of the Rick Bayless Restaurant Trifecta. It’s called Topolo. I have not the dollars to venture there. But you have to make reservations months in advance, so I should probably put my name down. So eventually when I have the dollars my name will be on the list.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Orange will never be the new black.

  1. Courtney Soland

    I’m a pretty picky eater so I did not think I would enjoy Topolobampo but I ended up getting a pork dish of some sort and it was the most amazing thing I’ve ever eaten!! You have got to make it there next time you are in Chicago!

    Let me know when you move to Chi, we can hang out with I go visit my dad! 🙂

    We don’t even really know each other, but it would be fun to get to know each other!

Leave a Reply

