Pina Coladas

First of all, this is the first time that I have ever sat down to write this blog and been frustrated on how to start it. I usually just sit down and write, but not today. For whatever reason, tonight I am not enlightened with wordy wisdom.

Anyway, it’s Pina Colada Day. I was just sitting on the couch and I mentioned to my dad that it was Pina Colada day. He immediately goes and gets his shoes. I ask him where he’s going. He informs me that he’s going to get stuff to make pina coladas. He loves to celebrate. He promptly returned and made my mom and I pina coladas. He wanted me to come in the kitchen and cut up pineapple and make them all fancy and I really didn’t want to. It isn’t Cut Up the Most Difficult Fruit to Cut Day, it’s Pina Colada Day. I really just wanted one in a cup. No frills.

This is not what mine looked like.

They were delicious. And strong. But that is to be expected from a drink my dad makes me.

In honor of Pina Colada Day I have had the song “If you like Pina Coladas” stuck in my head. And by in honor of, I really mean I knew what the holiday was when I woke up this morning and I’ve been singing it ever since.

I’m not incredibly familiar with the lyrics so I’ve basically been singing, “if you like pina coladas and getting stuck in the rain” over and over again. As it turns out, those aren’t the only lyrics.

It turns out that song is about a guy who is planning on responding to a personals ad in the paper, even though he’s married, and the lady from the personal ad is his wife! How cute? Right? I personally thinks it’s a little strange. Mainly due to the fact that the only requirements for this personal ad were the following:

1. A love of Pina Coladas.
2. Getting rained on.
3. Not into yoga.
4. Has half a brain.
5. Interested in scandalous escapades on the beach at exactly midnight.

She has the highest of high standards.

Sincerely,

Also not into yoga.

2 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

2 responses to “Pina Coladas

  1. Anne George

    I truly think if this holiday comes up again I need to be both alerted and invited to partake!

  2. You are too young and too beautiful to have experienced this, plus you have Facebook and the internet, but there was a time when people pretty regularly used print publications to find dates. (in other words, that song was REAL.) And the ads were a lot more civilized back then (“cute” some oldtimer would say) and not at all like the scary personal ads you see these days on Craig’s list where psychos photograph their nude body parts. (I was only looking for a friend. Really.) Anyhoo, when I was in college, my roommate dared me to respond to a personal ad and I did. I could have made a movie (or a blog post) about the hilarity that ensued.

    Actually I wanted to write a screenplay or a book about what would happen if my husband and I both registered for Match.com. One of us believed we would be matched and one of us believed we would not. Grand social experiment that’s just waiting to tried, right?

Leave a Reply

