So many Durans.

I was really hoping that Duran Duran Day or D3 was going to be filled with tons of 80s flashbacks and leg warmers. But I was wrong. D3 was filled with Chelsie and I suffering through our Duran Duran Pandora station. This is what Chelsie had to say about today.

“Well, it is curious, the popularity of it. I did some research (dont tell my boss) and discovered that Duran Duran actually has 14 albums spanning from 1981 to 2010. Which, what he’s doing in this century I’m not sure because he totally belongs only in the 80s. Also, it’s not a “he” as much as a “band”, but still. Vocals guy is Simon Le Bon, which seems appropriate to be the name of the lead singer of Duran Duran. I have to say, I do love 80s music. It was invigorating for that hour, then my head hurt. Rio was the best album.”

She then proceeded to tell me about how creepy the lyrics to Hungry Like a Wolf are. Yes, that is the one popular Duran Duran song you were thinking of. Let’s investigate.

In touch with the ground
I’m on the hunt I’m after you
Smell like I sound I’m lost in a crowd.
And I’m hungry like the wolf.
Straddle the line in discord and rhyme
I’m on the hunt I’m after you.
Mouth is alive with juices like wine
And I’m hungry like the wolf
Just what exactly does ‘smell like I sound’ mean? Oh, you smell……loud? That makes zero sense. But it was the 80s, and not a whole lot made sense then. There are a lot of things that I don’t understand about Duran Duran, but again I blame it on the 80s not making tons of sense.

Original boyband? I say yes.

They look so incredibly angsty. I suppose I would be too if I had the same haircut as all my bandmates. I promise never to say bandmates again.

And now today. Much less angsty, but still the sameish haircut.

I hope that your D3 day was filled with 80s flashbacks and mullet haircuts.

Sincerely,

I don’t know how many more holidays I can handle based around 80s bands.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “So many Durans.

  1. Your MTV 80's Mom

    Kate you did not mention Nick Rhodes, the hot guy in Duran Duran. Crushed on him all the way through high school.

Leave a Reply

