Take flight

It’s Aviation Day and I love flying. Being in a plane is a fantastic adventure. I love all things planes and airports and flight. I keep a journal about what happens to me in airports. I saw a kid barf up an entire blue Gatorade at security once. I met Marcia Cross. I sat next to the nicest guy, Troy. I had an unspoken tennis cheering competition with a guy. I saw a dog poop in the middle of the terminal. I’ve had customs board my plane looking for a fugitive. I’ve spent the night in the Denver airport orphanage for unaccompanied minors. I watched a dance troop from Dallas do country western dances in the terminal prior to boarding their plane. I’ve been upgraded to first class.

Moral of the story, I have a lot of airport/airplane experiences. While I’m not flying off on an adventure today, the city of Chicago is. This weekend is the Chicago Air and Water show. Basically really cool people who fly really cool planes are going to do really cool tricks with them. I’m thrilled.

They have been practicing yesterday and today. I keep hearing jets flying over my building. It’s kinda awesome. Technically my celebration will take place tomorrow afternoon. Are you okay with that? Is that allowed? Who am I kidding, I make the rules here. It’s fine. The celebration for Aviation Day will commence tomorrow.

However, I’m not having a run of the mill Friday evening. Remember when I told you that we were going to a lot of concerts this fall? Well, tonight is the first of those concerts. Kid Rock is tonight at an outdoor amphitheater. It’s going to be hilariously fantastic. I am going to be looking a lot like I belong at a Kid Rock concert. I’m wearing a pair of cut off shorts I owned in high school, a red, white and blue shirt that rules, and my cowboy boots. I am going to look amazing. It’s really a miracle those shorts still fit. I am slightly confused as to how large they were on me in high school? Sisterhood of the traveling pants? Let’s go with that.

I tell you all of this because Kid Rock has a song called Flyin’ High. It’s not really about planes… But it’s a celebration nonetheless! Hopefully I’ll have photographic evidence from tonight. I’m pretty sure we are purchasing disposable cameras. I’ll try and snag some photos of the air show tomorrow afternoon.

Sincerely,

My white trash name is Feather. Tonight, that’s what I’ll go by.

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “Take flight

  1. My brother recommended I might like this blog. He was entirely right. This post actually made my day. You can not imagine simply how much time I had spent for this information! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

