One Hit

I love one hit wonders. It might be due to the fact that they are so fantastic and mysterious or it my be the fact that everyone knows all the words and can always sing along. It’s One Hit Wonder Day and I’m giving you a fantastic top ten list. (I’ve been in a top ten mood recently). So here it is my top ten list.

1. Come On Eileen- Dexys Midnight Runners 

I have a love affair with this song. My mother introduced me to it as a child. I seriously want to dress up as a Midnight Runner from the music video.

I need overalls.

2. Tainted Love- Soft Cell 

The intro beat is what makes this song so great. Also, it had a central role in my 8th grade talent show. I honestly didn’t even know who sang this song until I looked it up. I seriously think Soft Cell only wrote one song. At their concerts they just sing Tainted Love over and over again.

3. It takes Two- Rob Base & DJ E-Z Rock

I wanna rock right now. I’m Rob Base and I came to get down. I’m not internationally known, but I’m known to rock a microphone. BOOM. Enough said. And that’s why they are number 3.

4. Mambo #5- Lou Bega 

First of all, I had Lou Bega’s album. I know he had other songs. I didn’t listen to them, but I know he had them. As a 5th grader, I wasn’t exactly familiar with gin or juice, but I knew a girl named Erica? If you had one of the names of a girl from Mambo #5, everyone at the skating rink thought you ruled, BECAUSE YOU DID!

5. 867-5309- Tommy Tutone 

I feel sorry for the people in every area code that have the number 867-5309, sort of. However, telling someone what you number is would be the greatest! Hey, can I get your number? Totally, let me break into song…..

6. Baby Got Back- Sir Mix A Lot 

Nothing is funnier than talking about a girls butt via song. Have you ever wondered who those girls at the beginning of the song are? Becky and her other friend? And why they were checking out some girl’s butt? Sir Mix A Lot wrote this song, retired and now is on every VH1 commentary show. I’d say he made it.

7. Rapper’s Delight- The Sugarhill Gang 

This is a shame. Sugarhill Gang should have gotten their crap together and made other sweet songs. I love Rapper’s Delight. In my dreams I know all the words. In reality I know about 64% of the words.

8. Ice Ice Baby- Vanilla Ice

First of all, he stole this beat. Under Pressure is the real song, but that’s beside the point. Vanilla Ice is a lyrical genius. Seriously, don’t believe me? I’ll prove it. “I’m cooking MC’s like a pound of bacon, burning them if you ain’t quick and nimble.” Bacon reference=the reason you are number eight on my list.

9. Rock me Amadeus- Falco 

That video is probably why Falco didn’t make it big. It’s just a little to insane. Insane in the membrane! (Wrong song…sorry).

10. We’re Not Going To Take It- Twisted Sister

I fell like Twister Sister and Meatloaf should get together and talk about what they aren’t going to take and what they won’t do for love. I feel like they would have a lot to talk about.

You are welcome for making your new greatest playlist ever.

Sincerely,

Now what you hear is not a test- I’m blogging to the beat.

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

