C of C

I feel like chambers of commerce are becoming an antiquated part of towns. The internet really removes the need for a centralized ‘What to do Here’ place. However, I worked in a chamber of commerce for a semester in college. They are so fantastic for networking local businesses. Anyway, my friend Shane would be so thrilled that I am promoting the chamber of commerce. Shane loves all things local.

So, since I’ve been here, here being Chicago if this your first time visiting The Celebrationist, I have not located my personal chamber of commerece. Some of the neighborhoods have their own, separate chambers from the city as a whole. Gold Coast doesn’t seem to have one.

Chicago does. They have a huge place that has tons of information on every cool thing to do in the city. Come to think, I should probably go before Abby gets here tomorrow. Anyway, I haven’t located it. When you don’t have a car and it’s cold, windy and rainy, walking around exploring is second to last on your list of things to do. What’s last? Punching yourself in the face.

But I will tell you that if you live in a town where the chamber of commerce is readily available and you have a car to take you there, get involved. There are so many cool opportunities within a chamber. If you are a small business owner and your aren’t a member, you aren’t doing yourself any favors.

When I was an intern at the Greater Oklahoma City Chamber, I got to see so many cool things. I learned how city planning operates (Shane is working in city planning!). Working there while I was planning on moving here was SUCH a conflict of interest. I was constantly berated with OKC info and I loved it! It makes me appreciate living in a smaller place than Chicago.

So, tomorrow, to the chamber with you!!

Sincerely,

Kate  (least creative sign off ever)

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

