There’s a poem in my pocket!

I read that like the phrase “There’s a snake in my boot!” circa Woody the Cowboy. I’m a very big Toy Story enthusiast you know. I thought that this was a fun holiday. I kept a poem in my pocket today.

Also, I love Shel Silverstein. So clearly I chose a Silverstein poem to put in my pocket. It’s called Hug O’ War.

Hug O’ War

I will not play tug o’ war
I’d rather play hug o’ war
Where everyone hugs
Instead of tugs
Where everyone giggles
And rolls on the rug
Where everyone kisses
And everyone grins
And everyone cuddles
And everyone wins

I think I sort of liked it because it started sentences with and. And I always do that. See what I did there? It was also just a really sweet poem. It seemed simple and nice. I kept this poem that was written in Sharpie pen on a very square piece of paper in my back pocket. No one knew it was there but me. And my totally cool boy toy that keeps his hand in my back pocket. Oh wait….those people are terrible humans.

Terrible Humans.

I’m not a fan of this. I prefer my poems to remain in my pocket unnoticed by others, but that’s just me.

My favorite Silverstein poems are all in Where the Sidewalk Ends. One of the best ones is called Dirty Dan. My Aunt Becky introduced me to this. I’m pretty sure she and/or my mom used to read it in a crazy voice. Here is a brief sampling. Although this wasn’t in my pocket, rest assured that it is awesome.

Dirty Dan

I live in a pen with five hogs and a hen
And three squizzly lizards who creep in
My bed, and they itch as I squirm, and I twitch
In the cruddy old sheets that I sleep in.

If you looked down my throat with a flashlight, you’d note
That my insides are coated with rust.
I creak when I walk and I squeak when I talk,
And each time I sneeze I blow dust

Dirty Dan is yucky. Real yucky, but I love it. There is a very particular way that I say ‘That my insides are coated with rust.’ I’ll show you some time if I run into you.

So there’s that. Poems in your pocket are very cool. The end.

Sincerly,

Little Peggy Ann McKay

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

